Often asked: What Does Csi Mean In Construction?

What is the CSI format?

The Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) is the organization that publishes the MasterFormat. This publication is the specifications-writing standard for most of today’s construction and commercial building design projects in North America.

What is CSI MasterFormat used for?

MasterFormat®, a publication of CSI and CSC, is a master list of numbers and titles classified by work results. It is primarily used to organize project manuals and detailed cost information, and to relate drawing notations to specifications.

What is a 3 part CSI specification?

CSI’s 3Part SectionFormat™ divides each specification document into – you guessed it – three parts: General, Products, and Execution. Within each of the three parts is a standard set of article titles set in a standard order to further organize the specification data.

What CSI division is drywall?

Division 09 – Finishes – Walls, Ceilings and Floors.

What CSI division is insulation?

Division 07 – Roofing, Waterproofing and Insulation.

What CSI division is fire alarm?

Division 28 – Electronic Safety and Security.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: How To Cut Snowflakes Out Of Construction Paper?

Who uses MasterFormat?

Unlike localized building codes, MasterFormat is recognized and used throughout the United States and Canada as one set of standards that manufacturers build by and construction companies prepare for.

What is the difference between MasterFormat and UniFormat?

The differences between two the formats is that Masterformat organizes the building design by the material of the project. The Uniformat is a method that organizes the building design in a way that links the systems of the project.

What CSI Division applies to all contractors and subcontractors?

Division 01–General Requirements: The first division of the specifications, Division 01 includes administrative and procedural requirements that apply to all the work, whether performed by the prime contractor or subcontractors.

What are the 4 types of construction?

The four major types of construction include residential building, institutional and commercial building, specialized industrial construction, infrastructure and heavy construction.

  • Residential Building.
  • Institutional and Commercial Building.
  • Specialized Industrial Construction.
  • Infrastructure and Heavy Construction.

What are outline specs?

Based on definitions from the AIA Handbook and the CSI Manual of Practice, an outline specification is an itemized list, using brief, concise statements, of significant materials, systems, and equipment and their criteria and levels of quality. Tailor each outline specification to the specific project.

What are the three forms of specification?

Generally, there are three different types of construction specifications found in contracts: prescriptive specifications, performance specifications, and proprietary specifications.

What CSI division is HVAC?

Division 23 – Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) Manufacturers. Material and product manufacturers relating to Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) are organized by the product or the material into CSI sections.

You might be interested:  Question: What Does Cpm Stand For In Construction?

What CSI division is cabinets?

12 Reasons Why It Matters to Your Project.

Division 6 aka: “Millwork” Division 12 aka: “Engineered Casework”
May or may not have a database or library of cabinets and their assemblies. Rarely are cataloged. Complete casework line of individual cabinets (with catalog#’s) as well as assemblies.
7. Liability for Performance

What CSI division is granite countertops?

4specs Discussion Forum: Granite Countertops. Do you typically specify them as part of Architectural Woodwork, by themselves in Div. 06 or 09, or as part of a stone section in Div.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *